Bookmarks

Yahoo Gmail Google Facebook Delicious Twitter Reddit Stumpleupon Myspace Digg

Search queries

golf club grace before meals, golf graces before meals, seymore butts ass hunt tylene buck, katharine mcphee ugly vagina, dinner grace at golf club, grace for golf club dinner, stephen a smith intro song, tylene buck interview, Tina fey anal, hqpron

Links

XODOX
Impressum

#1: Gross Score Competition and Handicaps Question

Posted on 2006-07-10 12:50:53 by Biffa

Over the weekend, My golf club has held it's Club Championships. Saturday's
Comp was for the Second and Third division Championships. Players are
divided into two divisions, 10-18 Handicap & 19-28 Handicap, and the Comp is
a gross score competition, the lowest gross score in each division being the
winner.The Second division was won by a 10 hcp Player, who shot a gross 75,
but the Third division was won by a player off 19 hcp who shot a 87 gross.
Now here's the question, The player off 19 handicap recorded his handicap on
his card as 18. The Competitions commitee decided that because it was a
gross comp, handicaps did'nt effect to the score, and so the 19 handicap
player won the third division championship.Now I would have thought that by
recording a handicap of 18 on his card, he is in effect entering the Second
division championship, and thus finished with a high score for that division
as opposed to shoting a low score in the third division.

Any thoughts?

Report this message

#2: Re: Gross Score Competition and Handicaps Question

Posted on 2006-07-10 15:48:17 by Pat Williams

Vince wrote:
> Over the weekend, My golf club has held it's Club Championships. Saturday's
> Comp was for the Second and Third division Championships. Players are
> divided into two divisions, 10-18 Handicap & 19-28 Handicap, and the Comp is
> a gross score competition, the lowest gross score in each division being the
> winner.The Second division was won by a 10 hcp Player, who shot a gross 75,
> but the Third division was won by a player off 19 hcp who shot a 87 gross.
> Now here's the question, The player off 19 handicap recorded his handicap on
> his card as 18. The Competitions commitee decided that because it was a
> gross comp, handicaps did'nt effect to the score, and so the 19 handicap
> player won the third division championship.Now I would have thought that by
> recording a handicap of 18 on his card, he is in effect entering the Second
> division championship, and thus finished with a high score for that division
> as opposed to shoting a low score in the third division.
>
> Any thoughts?

Interesting one, Vince.

I feel that I would have ruled the same as the committee. The
competition is a gross competition and if a handicap is entered on the
card it will only be to give guidance to the committee as to which
division the player is competing in. It is still the responsibility of
the committee to ensure that he is entered in the correct division.

If you read the relevant rule for stroke play handicapping, ie 6-2b,
the first phrase reads...." In any round of a handicap competition...".
This is not a handicap competition so high or low handical recorded
does not come into the equation. Would you think he should be DQ'd if
he entered no handicap at all?

Now if there was a subsidiary nett competition then it is quite
different!

JPW

Report this message

#3: Re: Gross Score Competition and Handicaps Question

Posted on 2006-07-10 19:59:41 by Malcolm Wadsworth

&quot;JPW&quot; &lt;<a href="mailto:jpwil&#64;tiscali.co.uk" target="_blank">jpwil&#64;tiscali.co.uk</a>&gt; wrote in message
news:<a href="mailto:1152539297.128154.79030&#64;s13g2000cwa.googlegroups.com..." target="_blank">1152539297.128154.79030&#64;s13g2000cwa.googlegroups.com...</a>
&gt; Vince wrote:
&gt;&gt; Over the weekend, My golf club has held it's Club Championships.
&gt;&gt; Saturday's
&gt;&gt; Comp was for the Second and Third division Championships. Players are
&gt;&gt; divided into two divisions, 10-18 Handicap &amp; 19-28 Handicap, and the Comp
&gt;&gt; is
&gt;&gt; a gross score competition, the lowest gross score in each division being
&gt;&gt; the
&gt;&gt; winner.The Second division was won by a 10 hcp Player, who shot a gross
&gt;&gt; 75,
&gt;&gt; but the Third division was won by a player off 19 hcp who shot a 87
&gt;&gt; gross.
&gt;&gt; Now here's the question, The player off 19 handicap recorded his handicap
&gt;&gt; on
&gt;&gt; his card as 18. The Competitions commitee decided that because it was a
&gt;&gt; gross comp, handicaps did'nt effect to the score, and so the 19 handicap
&gt;&gt; player won the third division championship.Now I would have thought that
&gt;&gt; by
&gt;&gt; recording a handicap of 18 on his card, he is in effect entering the
&gt;&gt; Second
&gt;&gt; division championship, and thus finished with a high score for that
&gt;&gt; division
&gt;&gt; as opposed to shoting a low score in the third division.
&gt;&gt;
&gt;&gt; Any thoughts?
&gt;
&gt; Interesting one, Vince.
&gt;
&gt; I feel that I would have ruled the same as the committee. The
&gt; competition is a gross competition and if a handicap is entered on the
&gt; card it will only be to give guidance to the committee as to which
&gt; division the player is competing in. It is still the responsibility of
&gt; the committee to ensure that he is entered in the correct division.
&gt;
&gt; If you read the relevant rule for stroke play handicapping, ie 6-2b,
&gt; the first phrase reads....&quot; In any round of a handicap competition...&quot;.
&gt; This is not a handicap competition so high or low handical recorded
&gt; does not come into the equation. Would you think he should be DQ'd if
&gt; he entered no handicap at all?
&gt;
&gt; Now if there was a subsidiary nett competition then it is quite
&gt; different!
&gt;
&gt; JPW
&gt;
I agree with Pat

Malcolm

Report this message